Named in honor of one of our founding directors, the late longtime CEO of Parkland Hospital, Dr. Ron Anderson, the award is annually presented to a public servant leader exemplifying the hallmarks that defined the service, life and legacy of Dr. Ron Anderson – uncommon leadership with an unwavering commitment to serve Christ through serving others with humility, compassion, integrity, vision, impeccable character and perseverance – reflecting the values of Christians in Public Service, Inc.

Dr. Ron Anderson dedicated over four decades of his life fighting for quality health care for the poor and the renowned reputation of Parkland Health and Hospital System today as one of the leading public hospitals in the world, with recognized centers of excellence, is due in no small part to the dedication and lifetime work of Dr. Ron Anderson.

He was a man of faith, a man of conviction, a man of uncommon valor - a servant.

The recipient will exhibit profound public service leadership and demonstrate those qualities consistent with the Christ-centered life, service and legacy of Dr. Ron Anderson.

"We have to be servants who want to above anything, serve Christ," -  Ron J. Anderson, M.D.


  • Current or former elected or appointed public servant leader
  • A visionary with a strong sense of mission
  • Embodies servant leadership
  • Impeccable moral character
  • Ability to persevere with dignity
  • Humble and honest
  • Readily helps others
  • Demonstrable compassion for the poor, underprivileged and under-served
  • Unselfishly uses his or her influence for the common good 
  • Collaborative
  • Demonstrably Christ-centered


2019 Honoree

The Honorable Carolyn Wright
Chief Justice (Ret.)
5th Court of Appeals Texas

After 35 years of judicial service, Chief Justice Carolyn Wright recently retired.  Prior to her retirement, she led the largest intermediate Appellate Court in the State of Texas and one of the busiest courts in the nation.  In 2009, then-Governor Rick Perry appointed Wright to this position and inducted the Houston native into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame in 2014.  

She is the first African-American to serve as Chief Justice of any of the 14 intermediate courts of appeal in Texas. 

Justice Wright was first appointed Justice in 1994 by former Governor George Bush.  He presented her the Yellow Rose of Texas Award for years of noteworthy contributions to her community. She is also, historically, the first African-American woman to win a multi-county election in the Lone Star state’s history.

Her 35-year judicial service includes service as a State District Judge and a Dallas County Associate Judge.  The Howard University School of Law Distinguished Alumni’s vast experience as a practicing attorney and member of the judiciary includes civil, family, juvenile, and criminal law.  During her tenure, she has authored thousands of legal opinions in cases involving legal issues in every aspect of Texas law. 

She also exhibited a passion for making our justice system more accessible, inclusive, and user-friendly.  She undertook and completed the transition of all counties and court reporters in this appellate district from paper to electronic filing; completed a massive expansion and renovation project for the court; and developed an internship program with the Court for students of the recently accredited UNT School of Law in Dallas.   As a trial judge, she was a forerunner in creating innovative programs related to domestic violence, mandatory mediation in child custody cases, the development of child support guidelines and solving issues affecting the nonsupport of families and children. 

Retired Chief Justice Wright is a tireless volunteer for many charitable and professional organizations and the recipient of numerous awards for serving as a faculty member, panelist, speaker, author, and exemplary servant-leader.  She has received numerous recognitions for her work including awards from the National Judicial College; the Texas Center for the Judiciary; the National Association of Women Lawyers’ Leadership Award; the   American   Bar   Association   Business Section’s   Award   for contributions to women and proficiency in law; the Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Supreme Court’s Chief Justice Jack Pope Award for Ethics and Professionalism; the SBOT Litigation Council’s Legacy Award; ABOTA’s Judicial Service Lifetime Achievement Award; the SBOT’s Judicial Section Life-Time Achievement; the Dallas County Commissioners Resolution honoring her 35 years of excellence in service to the community and the judiciary; inducted into Who’s Who in Black Dallas and DACOR, an organization of foreign affairs professionals.             

Retired Chief  Justice Wright’s memberships include the ABA, NBA, and Dallas Bar Associations; the Dallas, DAYL, and Texas Bar Foundations; J. L. Turner Legal Association; Downtown Rotary Club and Paul Harris Fellow; the Dallas Chapter of Links, Inc., Executive Women of Dallas, and Dallas Summit.




2018 | Judge Cheryl Lee Shannon | Presiding Judge | 305th District Court

2017 | Honorable B. Adam McGough | Dallas City Council | District 10

Larry James | Chief Executive Officer | CitySquare | Dallas, TX


Christians in Public Service, Inc. is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit, non-denominational, public servant leadership training and educational organization. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law. Funds are used strictly to support organizational operations. 

Inaugural Ron J. Anderson, M.D. Public Servant Leader Award Event